Social Graph vs. Interest Graphs vs Privacy Graphs

October 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

I recently read this interesting article about the comaparisons between these two terminologies. Its fascinating to note how the social web is spreading its reach with every day, every minute and every second. Almost now everyone is familiar with the terms of the social networking site. Even my mom who is not at all tech savvy has got a hang of Facebook and Twitter. But the question is with every bit of your life and activities exposed how secure do you feel? Is your own privacy going for a toss? With Facebook’s time line feature creating a rage. Twitter already the established player. More applications like Klout, now introducing Kred who keeps a tab on your social activities and give you scores. Its like your left with only two options either embrace it with both arms and seriously you need them both with the ever increasing list of networking sites, or you be a social outcast.

Now coming to the topic of social graph and interest graph, at the time when I was going through the choices or thoughts of what to reveal in my profile and what not. I realised that not only were there analysis being made on every update and activity of the users but there were also observing trends and generating graphs.

To shed a light on these two terms for users like me who are unaware. A social graph is a digital map that says, “This is who I know.” It may reflect people who the user knows in various ways: as family members, work colleagues, peers met at a conference, high school classmates, fellow cycling club members, friend of a friend, etc. Social graphs are mostly created on social networking sites like Facebook and LinkedIn, where users send reciprocal invites to those they know, in order to map out and maintain their social ties.

An interest graph is a digital map that says, “This is what I like.” As Twitter’s CEO has remarked, if you see that I follow the San Francisco Giants on Twitter, that doesn’t tell you if I know the team’s players, but it does tell you a lot about my interest in baseball. Interest graphs are generated by the feeds customers follow (e.g. on Twitter), products they buy (e.g. on Amazon), ratings they create (e.g. on Netflix), searches they run (e.g. on Google), or questions they answer about their tastes (e.g. on services like Hunch).

So now we know that how every feed that we create generates a trend showcasing our social behaviour. To a person like me I was quite appalled and felt an absolute breach into my privacy. Ofcourse I understand that when I sign up for it I am being monitored but when you see it as a brief summary its kind of creepy. But like I said thats the way it is and i guess will be.

In that case if you tweet about this will it reflect your interest or the reach of your social network?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Social Graph vs. Interest Graphs vs Privacy Graphs at Chaoticvibes.

meta

